Fall & winter shoes

In North Carolina, we get a good 6 or 7 months of weather you can wear flip-flops and sandals in.  After 6 months of wearing nothing but my Jack Rogers & Rainbows, my feet are hating that I have to wear closed toe shoes now!  I have a huge problem of finding shoes for the fall & winter that are comfortable enough for me to walk around Chapel Hill in, but are also cute.  So, here are the pairs of shoes I’m depending on everyday to wear to class & around campus & the shoes I have on my wish list this fall!

Staying stylish & warm

1. Clarks’ Wallabees.  I’m a little obsessed with these shoes, for a few reasons.  I started wearing them when I was 15 years old.  I wore the same pair for almost four years straight & just replaced them last winter.  They last forever!  I also really like them because they have a heel to them and make me taller!  At 5 foot, 4 1/2 inches, I’ll take whatever help I can get in the height department.  I’ve also been told by my podiatrist that Wallabees are actually good for your feet – it’s a much cuter option to wearing tennis shoes all the time for the health of your feet.

2. L.L. Bean Boots.  These are the only shoes I will wear when it’s raining in the winter.  For people up north, they’re perfect because they’re extremely warm.  Down South, our winters are fairly mild but the fact that they’re waterproof make duck boots the perfect rainy day solution.  I actually have two pairs – the lower moccasin pair & the 8 inch boot form.

3. Frye Harness Boots.  I got these boots for Christmas last year & I’m kind of in love with them.  They’re not quite cowboy boots, not quite riding boots.  I got mine in distressed leather and the more I wear them, the cooler the leather looks.  I’m really picky about how my shoes fit me and when I was shopping for boots last year, these were the only ones who passed for me.  I was assured by the salesperson last year that they’ll last me for decades, but only time will tell on that one.

4. Carolina Blue Converse high-tops.  Now, I know Converses are usually what comes to mind when you think of “preppy,” but old habits die hard when me.  I got my first pair of Converse high-tops when I was 12 and I’ve never looked back.  My Carolina blue pair is perfect to wear to cheer on UNC basketball, on our way to a national championship!

And on my wishlist this Christmas, I have:
1. Clarks’ Desert Boots
2. Tory Burch Reva flats
3. Minnetonka moccasins

What shoes are you turning to this fall?

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I’ve got the moccasins, converse, and Bean Boots! (The Bean mocs, too!) I love the Tory Burch flats, but I just can’t justify paying that much :/ I always seem to wear my flats out really quickly.

    Reply
  2. The price tag is definitely a little steep on Tory Burch…I’ve spent years trying to find a comfortable pair of flats that are still cute without emptying my bank account! Every pair of flats I have right now kill my feet after wearing them for about 45 minutes.

    Reply
    • Tell me about it! I think it has something to do with the lack of support. I looove the way they look (even though they make me really short…I’m 5’2″), but the foot pain just isn’t fun!

      Reply
  3. Caroline

     /  November 17, 2011

    I have 12 pairs of Revas…I swear they are the most amazing flats ever! You won’t regret buying a few pairs, I promise.

    Hunter boots are also a great investment for when it is raining but still warm out. I have a pair of shiny black ones because I wanted to be practical, but they also come in lots of fun colors.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

