Collins Tuohy

This past week, I had the pleasure of meeting Collins Tuohy.  You might know Collins as a member of the Tuohy family, the ones that the movie The Blind Side was based on.  I loved that movie and the story of how the Tuohy’s took Michael Oher in.  So, I was really excited when I found out that Collins was coming to Bridgewater to speak!

image, moviegoods.com

I’m the President of my class and a member of the SGA, and we’re the ones that put on the campus speaker series.  Because of that, we all got to hang out with Collins and ask her questions before and after her speech. Collins said that it’s really strange having someone play your family in a movie.  She had to watch the movie 8 or nine times before she could get past analyzing all the little details of her and her family’s life on the screen.  One thing that I thought was funny was that she and Lily Collins, the actress that portrayed her, would fight about who would get the clothes from the movie!  I thought that was pretty cool.  Also, Lily actually wore a lot of Collins’ real clothes in the film.  I also thought it was cool how she referred to Sandra Bullock as “Sandy”–like it was nothing to meet an Oscar-winning actress!  Collins also confirmed that, yes, Tim McGraw is just as good-looking in person.

Leigh Anne Tuohy, Lily Collins, Sandra Bullock, and Collins Tuohy. Image, Life

One thing that she said really stuck with me, though.  At one point in her speech, she brought up the magic and the giving spirit of the Christmas season.  She said “everyone from Jesus to Hallmark” is telling you to give to others.  Collins encouraged us to “make everyday Christmas” by helping others and trying to do at least one small thing for a complete stranger.  I don’t know about you, but it’s advice I’m certainly going to try to follow!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. just stumbled on this…I am watching the Blind Side now 🙂 🙂 So amazing that you got to meet Collins!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

