Winter break reading

One of my favorite parts of Christmas vacation is being able to take a break from reading textbooks to read books for fun!  I really enjoying reading and I find quite a bit of my required reading for my classes really interesting…but there’s so much of it that I barely have a chance to read anything of my choosing during the semester.  Here’s a look into what’s on my reading this holiday break.

  1. The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest.  If you haven’t read the first two books in Stieg Larsson’s trilogy already, I highly recommend them!  I read the first one over my Christmas break last year and the second during my summer vacation.  They take awhile to get through, but they’re great books.  The first book, The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, has an American version of the movie coming out very soon as well.
  2. A Freewheelin’ Time.  Most people who know me know that I find Bob Dylan fascinating and this memoir by Suze Rotolo, Bob Dylan’s girlfriend during the start of his career, is the latest facet of that interest.  I’ve started reading this book and find her story of her life before meeting Bob & her descriptions of Greenwich Village in the 1960s so interesting!
  3. The Catcher in the Rye.  It’s been about a year since the last time I read this classic and I thoroughly believe everyone needs to reread it regularly.  Seriously, it’s one of my favorite books ever.  If you haven’t read the Catcher in the Rye already, I’m not sure what you’re doing on the Internet right now…you need to be reading it.
  4. Slaughterhouse-Five.  I read The Sirens of Titan this past summer and since I finished it, reading more Kurt Vonnegut has stayed on my list of things to do.  I usually don’t find science fiction books of any interest at all, but I loved Vonnegut’s dark sense of humor.

What’s on your reading list this winter?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

