Looking forward to the new year

In a lot of ways, I find New Years Resolutions to be a little silly.  I almost always take some time at the beginning of a new year to reflect on the past year and to contemplate where I want to be a year from then.  Despite that, I’ve never been one to make a list of resolutions and to try to stick to them.  The connotations that come along with the phrase “New Years Resolutions” are a little much for me.  This year, though, I’ve tried to make a list of things I want to accomplish in the new year.  Not resolutions, but goals perhaps?

  • Read more.  While I already read a ton for school, I think it would be great to read 52 books this year, outside of my required reading.
  • Blog more.  Tumblr is wonderful in so many ways, but I’m going to make a concerted effort this year to write more posts on this little blog over here.
  • Finish spring semester with a 4.0.  A semester of all A’s is something I’ve yet to accomplish at UNC, and I think this goal may be a little steep, but I’m sure going to try.
  • Find a summer internship.  If you’re looking for an intern in anything related to journalism, I’m your girl.  Just kidding…sort of?
  • Spend less money.  Who knew college was so expensive?  Before my freshman year, I thought the poor college student stereotype meant I wouldn’t be spending that much money…I was so wrong.

What are you hoping to accomplish in the new year?

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. New year, new books | Laurie Beth Harris

Leave a Reply

