Rise (without leaveners, of course!) to the Challenge: Passover Made Easy

Hi all! I’m Nicole. I’m a sophomore at Boston College and Katie’s roommate! Here’s a picture of the two of us together, just in case you were wondering who I am! It may surprise you to know that before I came to BC, I was the least preppy person on this planet…But that was before I met Katie. She has officially turned me into a Sperry wearing, Longchamp carrying certified prep! As you all know, Easter is upon us! It’s my favorite holiday, what’s not to love? Family (here is me and mine!), candy, and Spring! Oh, and no school! This year is a little bit different for me because I am visiting my boyfriend and his wonderful family! Whenever I go spend a few days with them, I always always always bring something I baked with me (Mommy told me never to show up anywhere empty handed). This visit is going to be a bit challenging because I happen to be joining them for the first few nights of Passover (think Moses, plagues, Pharaoh’s son, lambs blood to help you jog your memory of the Passover story) and this means no leaveners…which means no cookies or cakes, my go to items. So, the past few days I’ve been scouring the internet trying to find some tasty passover friendly meals that I hope he and his family will like! When cooking for Passover, these next three words are going to save your life: Matzah, Matzah, and more Matzah! You can do pretty much anything you want to it, and its going to be delicious! I’ve compiled a few recipes that you can make for Passover, or just for fun (Matzah based of course)!

First, who doesn’t love matzah ball soup?!  If you haven’t had it, i’d suggest you try it immediately! Here’s a quick and easy recipe for the soup! Now if you’re feeling daring, or are just really really into matzah, you can always serve this with a side of fried matzah. My boyfriend’s mom makes the most delicious fried matzah, but its a family secret. So, I’ve found you a new recipe which looks equally as good!

Now for the main course, you have a choice of lasagna or pizza: both made with matzah (no surprise there)! There are plenty of other great ideas for main dishes, so don’t limit yourself. Google recipes, ask around and try new things!

Now for the finale: chocolate toffee matzah. Now this recipe is something I definitely plan on making for him (and his family if he doesn’t eat it all first)!

This literally looks amazing, and it is super easy to make: two of my favorite things to hear about a recipe. You can mess around and use any kind of chips you want- personally, I may need to try it with peanut butter (because who doesn’t love reese’s?!) and butterscotch. Now, if you’re a chocolate lover, like my boyfriend, try getting other ideas from recipes from a chocolate seder website for other delicious (kosher) desserts!

Good luck to you all, and have a lovely Easter or Passover (or whatever else you would like to celebrate!)!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

