Pinterest projects for the new school year!

I know, I know…it’s the middle of summer and the last thing on your mind is probably going back to school.  But here’s the thing: it’s actually not that far away.  I’ll be moving to my apartment for the upcoming school year in less than 10 days, which means classes aren’t far behind.  Plus, back to school is my favorite time of the year – buying new school supplies, decorating dorm rooms, I love it all.  As I’ve been planning how I want to decorate my room this year, I have inevitably turned to Pinterest (it’s an addiction, isn’t it?).  I’ve finished a few projects and have even more than I need to find the time to try.  Be sure to click on each of the pictures to be led to the pin.

This was my first Pinterest project of the summer – painting corkboards to go above my desk.  The hardest part of the project was measuring out the stripes – I would not be able to deal if they were uneven and I’m not a math major for a reason.  But they turned out AWESOME and I can’t wait to hang them up!  You can see my Instagram photo of my final product here!

These metallic cork coasters were my second project of the summer – obviously I bought cork in bulk at A.C. Moore this month.  The coasters were very easy to make.  I traced circles on a sheet of cork with a bug mug, instead of purchasing pre-cut coasters.  After that, all you have to do is draw on them with a silver paint pen!  These coasters are going to be absolutely adorable in my apartment.

And finally, one project I’m planning for the coming weeks.  Somehow, from my time spent living in a dorm, I have ended up with way more Sterlite drawers than any one person really needs.  They’re really functional, but not always the prettiest thing.  So, attaching scrapbook paper (whether with Modge Podge or just Scotch tape!) to the inside of the drawers is a great way to make them look better!

What Pinterest crafts have you tried out this summer?!

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

