Preppy Dorm Decor

We’re into the last week in July, and once August hits we’ll be in what I like to call “the home stretch of summer”. Pretty soon everyone will be heading back to school with cars full of supplies and necessities for the year away from home.

For a lot of college students, girls especially, it’s important to make a dorm room feel as homey as possible. You want to be surrounded in comfort and familiar things while still impressing your friends and hall mates who come to visit. Also, you definitely want your dorm to be a reflection of your personal style.

When I was heading into my freshman year in 2009 (soooo long ago! 😦 and now I’m going to be a senior! Scary!), I knew that I wanted my room to be two things: pink and green, and filled with polka dots. And I have stuck to that design scheme every year since. If it ain’t broken don’t fix it, you know?

Here are a few pictures of my dorm this past year that definitely illustrate my love of polka dots and all things pink and green…and my love of Audrey Hepburn…

My space is definitely a reflection of who I am. And, if you’re reading this site, you’re probably interested in preppy style so I’m thinking you’d want your room to reflect that. So, without further ado, here’s my tips on how to prep up your space!

Keep in mind that there are seriously SO many places you can get great stuff for your dorm…when I was getting stuff my freshman year, I’m pretty sure it all came from Target, Marshalls, and T.J. Maxx! I used a lot of online retailers like Dormify.com and Lifeguard Press for this post, but there are so many other places you can look!

One of the things I’m going to focus on the most is bedding because it’s honestly one of the biggest parts of the room. In college, the bed multi-tasks as a couch, table, desk, and yes…even a place to sleep. It’s one of the first things people notice when they come to visit.

I am absolutely IN LOVE with this “spring fling collection” bed set from Dormify. Aside from keeping with my all-time favorite color scheme, I’ve been all about chevron lately, and how adorable is that #seriously pillow?! Love!

I also love this “southern comfort collection” bedding set from Dormify! It’s in a great color scheme that is bound to match all your other decorations, and I am seriously obsessed with that cable knit pillow! It’s really making me think of some ideas for my old sweaters….

In addition to awesome bedding, Dormify has a bunch of really great throw pillows that double as conversation starters. I really love the “call your mother”, “ski” and “keep calm” ones! Left to right: party on pillow, #typical pillow, ski pillow, call your mother pillow, #sororitygirlproblem pillow, look busy pillow.

I’m not in a sorority, but I know plenty of ladies who are. If I were a sister, I’d be all over the Lilly Pulitzer Greek collections. There are prints representing 14 different sororities, and they’re all adorable! Unfortunately, even if I had pledged, none of the sororities on my campus are recognized. But, if you’re lucky enough to have your letters Lilly-fied, Lifeguard Press has you covered with tumblers, whiteboards, and the most adorable iPhone cases!

Remember, small details can make a huge difference! A little bit of creativity can pack a whole bunch of personality.

How have you chased to decorate your room at school?

xoxo, Karoline

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Decadent Dorm Desk Decor | East Coast Elegance

Leave a Reply

