Theater Appreciation!

One thing I love to do (especially during the holiday season) is get out to the theater. Ever since taking an American Musical Theater class at my school, I’ve been hooked on the art! Getting dressed up to go a show, ballet, or musical is so exciting and fun, there is so much talent out there just waiting to be seen. Plus, going to a play makes for a great date night!

After I discovered my new found appreciation and love for theater, I’ve made an effort to see quite a few shows this past season—

A9ZAnCECQAAoyhV.jpg-large

pippincarosel

Pippin. I saw Diane Paulus’ musical production of Pippin at the American Repertory Theater (A.R.T.)  in Cambridge a couple days ago. Some major stars like Andrea Martin, Patina Miller, Terrence Mann, and other acrobats from all over the world came together to perform in such a fantastic specical. This show was absolutely incredible and I highly recommend it. Plus, the A.R.T. has student tickets that are really cheap!

A9z0dG4CEAA1eTa.jpg-large

A Christmas Carol & Winterdance. While its not possible for me to always get out to Boston to see a show, right at my own school I’ve been able to see two procutions very recently—Charles Dickens’ classic, A Christmas Carol, and Winterdance, a dance production put on by Bridgewater State University’s Dance Company. Check out what performances your University’s theater department is working on, grab some friends and take advantage of them–tickets are probably really cheap or even free for students!

Unknown

images

The Nutcracker. Whats up next for me is hopefully The Nutcracker! I absolutely love this ballet around Christmas time and the Boston Ballet does a fantastic job performing it every year. I have seen The Nutcracker before– every other year or so one of my best friends from home, Samantha, and I go and see it as a Christmas tradition, it never gets old!

Have you been to any theater performances recently? Leave it in the comments!

XO, Christine

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

